Beach Handball

Welcome to the exciting world of beach handball! With its fast-paced action and acrobatic plays, beach handball is a thrilling variation of the classic indoor game. This dynamic sport has gained popularity around the world, with national federations and players in countries across the globe.

Beach handball is played on a sandy beach with two teams of four players each. The objective of the game is to score more goals than the opposing team by throwing a ball into their goal while avoiding their defenders. This format has its own unique rules and playing style, making it a favorite among sports enthusiasts and spectators alike.

As the sport continues to evolve and gain popularity, new formats of handball are emerging to meet different playing conditions and preferences. Whether it’s beach handball, indoor handball, or one of the other variations, handball is a global game with something for everyone.

At Handball Australia, we are proud to support all forms of handball and to promote the growth of the sport at all levels. Whether you’re a seasoned player or new to the game, we invite you to explore the world of handball and discover the excitement and thrill that this sport has to offer.

Beach handball has come a long way since its inception, with a series of significant events marking the sport’s growth and recognition :

– 1992: First beach handball demonstration game, played in Misano Adriatico (Italy)

– 1993: First official international beach handball tournament, Rome (Italy)

– 1994: Beach Handball is officially recognised by the International Handball Federation (IHF).

– 2004: 1st IHF Men’s and Women’s Beach Handball World Championships take place in El Gouna (Egypt) with nine men’s and eight women’s teams participating. Egypt wins the men’s competition and Russia wins the women’s competition.

– 2018: Beach handball appears at the 2018 Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires (Argentina) for the first time and is a sensation with the argentinian public. Argentina wins the women’s title and Spain the men’s title.