UTS and QUT win at the Australian University Games

Player with awkward jump shoots at goal

The University of Technology, Sydney (UTS), wins Gold in Division 1 over Deakin University, Melbourne, and the Queensland University of Technology (QUT), Brisbane, Gold in Division 2 over the University of Canberra at the Australian University Games held on Queensland’s Gold Coast this week.

Eighteen universities participated in the Mixed Handball event across two divisions. Much of the competition was very close.

The Division 1 Gold medal game finished with a two goal difference. UTS commented “[UTS] played an experienced Deakin outfit and started strongly to lead 14-11 going into the half time break. Deakin showed their strength as last year’s winners in the second half by taking back the initiative from UTS. However, the UTS players would not let up and held a slight two goal lead for the majority of the second half and held on the win the game 25-23.”

In Division 2 QUT won decisively in the end 31:25 after a strong start by the University of Canberra. The semi finals leading into this match were closer. In the University of Canberra v Griffith University semi-final, Canberra reports they were “down 19-15 with two minutes to go, they fought back hard using an aggressive 1 on 1 defence to level scores by full time”. The result was determined by overtime and then a penalty shoot-out. One of the organisers Brendan Cook reports it was exciting “a very tense match”.

After a great week of Handball the final rankings were:

Division 1

  1. Gold: University of Technology, Sydney (NSW)
  2. Silver: Deakin University (VIC)
  3. Bronze: Australian College of PE (NSW)
  4. Sydney University (NSW)
  5. Monash University (VIC)
  6. Adelaide University (SA)
  7. University of NSW (NSW)
  8. Victoria University (VIC)

Division 2

  1. Gold: QUT (QLD)
  2. Silver: University of Canberra (ACT)
  3. Bronze: Griffith University (QLD)
  4. RMIT (VIC)
  5. Bond University (QLD)
  6. Flinders University (SA)
  7. University of Wollongong (NSW)
  8. Edith Cowan University (WA)
  9. Murdoch University (WA)
  10. University of Notre Dame Australia (WA)

Thanks to Paul Langenberg as event manager and his team for all who were involved and congratulations to all who participated.