Australian women return from a strong showing at the World Championship

Sally Potocki mid jump attempting to throw pas a defender blocking with both hands

The Australian Women’s team have bettered prior performances at the recent Women’s World Handball Championships in Serbia, making this campaign the lowest score difference between their competitors to date. Some of these teams were major European powerhouses with professional players in their teams. Congratulations to the players, official (and their supporters) for such a strong showing.

The women started really well in their first game against Germany, holding them in check for the first 14 minutes until the German coach called a time-out and changed their game. The rest of the games were

Main round

  • Germany v Australia 36:15(17:7)
  • Romania v Australia 32:12 (16:7)
  • Hungary v Australia 39:15 (17:11)
  • Czech v Australia 34:10 (15:4)
  • Tunisia v Australia 24:15 (12:8)

President’s Cup

  • Paraguay v Australia 23:21 (12:10) [5:3 SO] Penalty Shoot-out
  • Dominican Republic v Australia 27:26 (18:9)

(For Match reports, see the IHF site. For more stories and photos see the Handball Australia Facebook page)

The women had hoped to win a game or two and came excruciatingly close, coming down to a penalty shootout against Paraguay and losing by only one goal to the Dominican Republic after clawing their way back from being behind by 9 points at half time. So while the team remained 24th place on the rankings, much to the disappointment of the players, the Match Reports and ‘edge of the seat action’ for the viewer’s (an no doubt also the team) show a huge improvement.

Three players were awarded ‘Player of the Match ‘over the course of the competition – Sally Potocki v Germany), Jemima Harbort (v Hungary)and Cathy Kent (vTunisia).

The team: Cathy Kent (France), Jemima Harbort (Qld), Victoria Brunsberg (NSW), Lilly Bentwitch (nee Maher) (NSW), Rosa Boyd (Qld), Aminta ‘Millie’ Thomas (NSW),Madeleine McAfee (Qld), Sebel Lindblom (Sweden), Ana Meded (Vic), Daniela Borelli Cook (NSW), Sally Potocki (Germany), Solveig Sørensen (Denmark), Vanja Smiljanic (Vic), Emma van Bussel (NSW), Olivia Doherty (Vic), Shelley Roy (Qld).

Officials: Jason Hoppner (Coach), Alex Gavrilovic (Manager), Richard Ridley (Assistant Coach), Renata Rusmir (Physio), Malico Ikeda

Congratulations all and we look forward to building on this for 2015.