National men’s team returns to the international court
Australian pivot Ioannis Niarhakos in action

Australia will take to the court for the first time in an official competition since the team’s spot for the 24th Men’s World Handball Championship in Qatar was reallocated to Germany.

Kosovo has been named as host country for the upcoming IHF Emerging Nations Tournament, which will take place between 18th and 26th June (exact dates and draw within this timeframe are currently being finalised).

The Emerging Nations Tournament will see Australia compete against 19 other nations for the title.

An age eligibility has been put in place for the tournament; players must be at least 16 years of age (must turn 16 by 17 June 2015) and under the age of 30 (not born before 1985).

As of the 15th of May, the following countries were confirmed participants alongside Australia and hosts Kosovo: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Cameroon, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Great Britain, Georgia, India, Ireland, Latvia, Moldova, Malta and Uruguay.

Unfortunately two nations (unknown to AHF at this stage) have since withdrawn.

Luke Behrendorff, Daniel Fogerty, James Ridley and Tomasz Szklarski will all make their senior national team debut at the Emerging Nations Tournament.

Australia’s full team for Kosovo has been named as follows:

  • Kristofer Karlsson (Sweden)
  • Avery Edmunds (QLD)
  • Bevan Calvert (Germany)
  • Tim Anderson (NSW)
  • Ioannis Niarhakos (Vic)
  • Callum Mouncey (ACT)
  • Caleb Gahan (Spain)
  • Tommy Fletcher (Faroe Islands)
  • Tomasz Szklarski (NSW)
  • James Ridley (England)
  • Daniel Fogerty (NSW)
  • Luke Behrendorff (ACT)
  • Ben Fogerty (NSW)
  • Almir Pandzo (Bosnia)

Written by: Courtney Gahan