Australia women’s team prepare for Kazakhstan
Australia's Madeleine McAfee in action

Preparations are underway for the Australia women’s team to attend the first Four Nations Tournament, to be held in Kazakhstan from 15-17 June. The winner of the tournament will win a spot at the Women’s World Championship 2015 in Denmark in December.

Since the reallocation of the Oceania spot for the 24th Men’s World Handball Championship to Germany, both the Australia men’s and women’s team have continued training in anticipation of the announcement of the new qualification pathway.

The Four Nations Tournament will be the future pathway to the World Championship and Olympic Games for teams from Oceania, with the winner of the Oceania Handball Nations Cup earning the region’s spot at the tournament.

The Four Nations Tournament will be contested by the first non-qualified team from Asia, Africa and Pan-America. Asia will be represented by Four Nations host: Kazakhstan, and Algeria will make up the African contingent.

Uruguay will represent Pan-America.

The Australia team squad list is as follows:

  • Jemima Harbort (QLD)
  • Kayla Zissler (ACT)
  • Ana Medjed (Vic)
  • Victoria Brunsberg (NSW)
  • Madeleine McAfee (QLD)
  • Heather Cooper (QLD)
  • Birte Biehler (SA)
  • Renata Rusmir (SA)
  • Nadege Frantz (Vic)
  • Victoria Fletcher (Sweden)
  • Alice Keighley (ACT/NSW)

Zissler, Biehler, Rusmir and Franz all make their official debut in Kazakhstan.

Written by: Courtney Gahan